Please enlighten me re: towing with a Pathfinder

**** PLEASE USE SUBTOPICS BELOW FOR NEW TOPICS ****

Moderator: volvite

RenaissanceMan

Please enlighten me re: towing with a Pathfinder

Postby RenaissanceMan » Sun Feb 22, 2009 1:16 pm

Hi there-

I'm a newbie here, and this is my first post. I am currently shopping for a used vehicle that will double as both a daily driver for my wife and a tow vehicle for my race car 8-10 times a year. I have been doing some research and from what I've read, the 2005+ Pathfinder seems to have enough power and stability to tow a car on an open trailer. I have several questions:

1-Is the idea of pulling a +-2800 lb car on a +-1800 lb steel trailer (with brakes) with an '05+ Pathfinder a _safe_ one? I am brand new to towing and will be driving up to 6 hours from my home to attend these events. Can this vehicle handle the stresses of this safely?

2-Since '05 was the first year of this bodystyle, are there inherent bugs and gremlins that come with it? Should I limit my search to '06 or newer? My budget is somewhere in the mid teens.

3-Is the stock tow package that comes on these vehicles adequate for what I want to do, or do I have to purchase additional equipment?

Thanks in advance,

Adam in Nashville

disallow
Site Admin

Re: Please enlighten me re: towing with a Pathfinder

Postby disallow » Sun Feb 22, 2009 2:05 pm

RenaissanceMan wrote:Hi there-

I'm a newbie here, and this is my first post. I am currently shopping for a used vehicle that will double as both a daily driver for my wife and a tow vehicle for my race car 8-10 times a year. I have been doing some research and from what I've read, the 2005+ Pathfinder seems to have enough power and stability to tow a car on an open trailer. I have several questions: