tire and brake replacements

**** PLEASE USE SUBTOPICS BELOW FOR NEW TOPICS ****

Moderator: volvite

jspitz

tire and brake replacements

Postby jspitz » Fri Sep 04, 2009 6:47 am

My '06 LE is coming up on 56k and the OEM General Grabber AW tires are close to the wear limit - in other words, I've been sliding around on them for a couple months :shock:

I'm looking at Goodyear Fortera TripleTred ($182 at TireRack) and General Grabber HTS ($128). Both have stellar ratings at TireRack, but the Goodyears have 10 X the reported mileage. Any thoughts or suggestions? I need on-road tires, with good snow/ice performance.

I'll have a trusted independent mechanic friend of mine do the brakes. Front pads are nearly gone, rears had a few more mm to go at the 52.5k oil change, so I figured I might as well do all four corners. Any recommendations for pads/rotors? The OEMs did OK, but always felt a little undersized for the weight of the truck. I know different pads/rotors will probably not make a huge difference, but figured I'd throw the question out there. For a caliper rebuild kit, should I go w/ Nissan or just get AutoZone/Napa/whatever?

TIA

NVRDONE

Postby NVRDONE » Fri Sep 04, 2009 11:33 am

At 54000 I replaced my tires with Yokahama Geolanders which I have had experiance on Jeep's. On the Path, they worked grear in the snow & ice we had in Seattle last winter- nothing like you get back east.
As far as brakes, I'm using Akebono Proceramis pads & Stillen rotors on the front. Back are still stock. There is a marked improvement is stopping power now.

LittleStevie

Postby LittleStevie » Fri Sep 04, 2009 2:07 pm

The Fortera TripleTreds are awesome on the Pathfinder. I have ~23k miles on my set, probably about 1/3 to 1/2 of tread life remaining. Great traction all around and they really firmed up the handling.

I can't comment on snow/ice performance, but I'd recommend them as solid tires.

Ride2Live

Tires and Brakes

Postby Ride2Live » Fri Sep 04, 2009 6:03 pm