Reprogramming the Screen

Oh yeah, it's the geek bling with flashing lights, just can't get enough.

Moderator: volvite

mar1
Sponsored Member

Reprogramming the Screen

Postby mar1 » Fri Apr 30, 2010 4:24 pm

i have the built in screen, and was wondering if there was any way to edit or reprogram the built in software for the radio,ac and all.

all google replies were related to ECU only.

im a coder, but i have no idea how to get to the program code, if possible.

Cheers,
Marwan

scarelli

Postby scarelli » Fri Apr 30, 2010 8:08 pm

I'm also a programmer... I've been reading through the manuals to figure out where the brains are...

what i wanted to do was reprogram the intelligent key to unlock the doors when i walk up to the car, instead of having to push the button on the door.

What are you looking to reprogram?

mar1
Sponsored Member

Postby mar1 » Sat May 01, 2010 2:01 pm

that would be a nice touch.

porshes and mercs have that, so maybe you can read through some of their manuals ?

for me, im looking to make all the options available thru touch screen, not just the Nav.

radio controls, volume, and dvd controls.

plus maybe an option to tell the gf to shutup when a good song comes on :lol:

Scaramoche

coding

Postby Scaramoche » Tue May 04, 2010 10:44 am

My background is as design engineering, and would definatly like to help. I dont have the vehicle you guys have, so im not sure of the setup. But some things to ponder.
1st-is the nav system/display a self contained computer module? if so this may or may not be tricky. first it is an integrated board, it may be proprietary technology, ie unconventional bus, mem management, OS, etc. If this is the point, it may not even be practical(you would have to map memory, discover chipset command sets, etc, then hack low level, ie assembly, and compilers)