Front Brake Pads

**** PLEASE USE SUBTOPICS BELOW FOR NEW TOPICS ****

Moderator: volvite

arrdode

Front Brake Pads

Postby arrdode » Fri Feb 04, 2011 8:43 pm

Hi All,

Have a 2008 Nissan Pathfinder SE. Measly 13,000 Miles.

Went to Dealer to get my rear hatch(trunk door) fixed today because that thing was falling and hitting my head in the winter. After reading the forum, notice I wasn't the only one. They should have a recall on this issue. Well, got free multi point inspection for free while I was there and dealer told me front brake pad has only 30% left (what? I only drove it 13,000 mile in the 3 years, and it's already down to 30%. Is it possible?? I don't think I am a bad driver that kill the brake). They said the back is fine.

My questions is, how long/many miles can 30% last? Do I need to get it replace right away? I don't trust the dealer sometimes.

Thanks in advance!

Arrdode

Npath

Re: Front Brake Pads

Postby Npath » Sat Feb 05, 2011 4:11 am

Wow, that's really weird, I wouldn't think you'd need new brakes already.

No one can say how long 30% brake life will last, it all depends on how often you use the brakes. I'd say, a month, look at them and see how far the pads have worn.

Easy to remove, all you need is a ratchet, loosen two bolts, removing the bottom one. Lift caliper and the pads should come out easy.

Watch out for the clip that is at the base of the caliper. It may seem useless, but it's there for a reason. If you don't know how it goes back on, look on the other caliper. Not hard to put back in.

May as well buy a pair of front pads and leave em at home. Buy from a auto parts store, the dealer asks double the price before install. All pads should be ceramics.

skinny2
Sponsored Member

Postby skinny2 » Sat Feb 05, 2011 6:44 am