my new project

You gotta Love these old VG30E/i powered beasts, raw truck DNA to the core.

Moderator: volvite

crowjane

my new project

Postby crowjane » Fri Nov 04, 2011 10:19 am

hi everyone. im a 25 year old female who recently got into auto mechanics. ive always been interested in mechanics and have been pretty mechanically minded since i was very young. i just never bought my own car until a year ago, i did a lot of work on it. I wont tell you what kind of car is was to save myself embarassment ;)

I just moved to new hampshire and needed a 4x4. So I bought a 5sp 4x4 1990 nissan pathfinder SEV6.

I bought it for 900 bucks. It needs a lot of work. Im new to mechanics but enjoy learning, Im sure i will be coming here for advice and help fairly frequently.

Im hoping I didn't screw myself. 900 bucks and its drivable. but not inspectable. Its at the shop right now having some welding done on the exhaust, and the mechanic said he found a spot on the frame thats pretty thin, I haven't seen it, so i will find out about that, hopefully theres something i can do about it.

anyway this is just an introduction, so if you see my posts in the next couple weeks. PLEASE HELP. snow is here.

zuke66

Postby zuke66 » Tue Nov 08, 2011 6:20 am

How many miles?

I would guess that you need your valve cover gaskets and timing belt changed.

Any rust?

crowjane

Postby crowjane » Thu Nov 10, 2011 10:59 am

170 k miles. says the timing belt was replaced 7 thousand miles ago. probably need a valve cover gasket seems theres an oil leak coming from there.

speaking of rust.
now im torn.

i might just end up selling it for parts.