Fairly pleased, thanks Nissan engineers...

The Gas and Diesel Engines - VQ40De, VK56DE, YD25DDTi, V9X, Transmission, Transfer Case, Oil, Differentials, Axles, Exhaust...

Moderator: volvite

Gray

Fairly pleased, thanks Nissan engineers...

Postby Gray » Wed Mar 05, 2008 10:51 pm

As a consultant I recently completed a 3500 km work deploy to northern Canadian oilfields through some tough driving sections without incident. Most of my associates drive full sized pickups which are predominately domestic half and 3/4 ton trucks so a PF is an oddity in that group and on those roads.

One of the real upsides of this truck is that it is narrow so allows additional clearance when pulling over to pass full sized Kenworths, Peterbuilts, etc on single track oilfield roads...I got a wave or a thumbs up many times from those guys. Another plus was the load carrying capacity...I had about a 750 lbs of electronics and other gear positioned behind the front seats and the ride was excellent. :)

The main downsides were the headlight night lighting and I found that the truck rides a bit rough on oilfield roads, easily fixed by slowing down.

About another 8 similar runs and the truck will be paid for by the client mileage fee. :wink:

What I really enjoyed though was to cruise along at highway speeds of 90 - 100 mph when able with no issues.

Last edited by Gray on Thu Mar 06, 2008 1:17 am, edited 5 times in total.

Fofiddy

Postby Fofiddy » Wed Mar 05, 2008 11:38 pm

Yeah although the stock springs are incredibly soggy I'm amazed how well (much better) it rides with a load/trailer in the back. I've taken a 6x12
with about a ton of dirtbikes and camping gear jammed in 1500 mi round trip and have been 13lbs off the GRVW doing a 200 mi wood pellet run for a jackass friend. Sadly with that weight (on oem pogos sans air bags) everyone and their mother thinks your high beaming them.

blink32
Sponsored Member

Re: Fairly pleased, thanks Nissan engineers...