Suspension Upgrades

Attack of the unibody snatchers! Styling and handling refined or bland? You decide.

Moderator: volvite

604Allstar

Suspension Upgrades

Postby 604Allstar » Mon Nov 03, 2014 11:04 am

Hi,

The dreaded "death wobble" has finally showed up on my 2001 QX4 so I thought I would take this opportunity to upgrades some of the other suspension parts at the same time as there is 237km on it.

I work in sales and this is my daily driver but I do go hunting take the QX4 on unmaintained mountain logging roads that can get pretty adventures. Currently the front end noise dives pretty badly with a little tap of the brake and the vehicle bottoms out pretty easily especially when I have it loaded up with hunting gear. Since the vehicle is my daily driver I don't want to go too aggressive with anything so I was wondering what people thought of the setup below.

-Front Struts
KYB GR-2/Excel G

-Rear Shocks
Bilstein 5100

-Front Springs
OME HD Springs

- Rear Springs
OME MD Springs

-OEM strut mounts and bearings

-Upper and Lower Trailing Arm
4x4parts - http://www.4x4parts.com/i-18981216-rear ... -arms.html
(Plus new bolts)

- New Bump stops.

I went with HD springs in the front and MD springs in the back to give the truck a level stance but I am concerned about "topping out" the front struts. I don't plan on changing the bumper ever or adding a winch. I do have the OEM grill guard but im guessing that's only 60-75 lbs, so still well below the 110-220lbs recommended rating of the HD springs. Would I be better of getting MD springs all around and then getting a spacer for the front?

what are peoples opinion of AC Springs vs OME?

Please pass along any feedback, Suggestion or anything that I have left out that I should also do.

Cheers

smj999smj
Site Admin

Postby smj999smj » Mon Nov 03, 2014 2:18 pm

If you have rear drum breaks, I would recommend you have them adjusted as that could also cause nose-dive while breaking.

604Allstar