Signing off...mostly

Post a pic of your ride, tell us where you're from, what vehicle your Path replaced, etc etc.

Moderator: volvite

NVSteve
Sponsored Member

Signing off...mostly

Postby NVSteve » Mon Jan 18, 2021 8:00 pm

I haven't posted much of anything in the last couple of years. Mostly because I've been so incredibly busy. I was laid off 3 years ago from a job in a profession that has turned into the epitomy of greed. It all worked out as I was planning on leaving anyway, but this just pushed me out there a bit sooner. Long story short, this is my third year as a middle school science teacher. What a time to get into the teaching profession, right? As a teacher, I can't simply run out during work and get a part or have something installed/replaced. My Pathfinder was starting to need more scheduled items replaced, but I also became fed up the last time I was out on dirt roads for 4 days & ending up with the check engine light. Again. The same thing as usual-EVAP system was clogged, so I spent the entire day ripping out vent control valve & charcoal canister, cleaning & blowing all the dirt out, then reinstalling. Can't tell you how many times I have had to do that thanks to the fine chalk-like dust that I constantly drive through. When I had a couple days of free time around Thanksgiving, I went out and looked at my options again. Ended up special ordering a 4Runner and finally took delivery a couple days ago. I simply could not go with anything else out there, simply because of the reliability issues. Put the Pathfinder on the local TV station's internet classifieds at midnight and had it sold by 11:30am the following morning. Tough to see it go as it has been the best vehicle I've ever had the pleasure of owning. If Nissan pulls their head out and brings something Xterra or Pathfinder (not the current station wagon) related back to market, I will probably be all over it. Until then, I'll be driving a reliable, more capable vehicle around with far too muc