Design glitch of R51 headlights?

Topics related to Lights, Radio, Stereo, Headunits, Alternators...

Moderator: volvite

headshrinker

Design glitch of R51 headlights?

Postby headshrinker » Wed Apr 06, 2016 12:57 am

Hello guys,

This is a long shot..

I have been driving a 2008 R51 model for 2 years and as of December 2015 the 2012 R51.
The 2008 vehicle was a SE while the new one is a full option LE model - Both equipped with the 4.0l engine and gulf specs.

When I bought the old model the longish orange plastic cappings inside the headlights were already popped out (the middle one of the 3 on each side).

See: Image

As the car was already 6 years old at that time I thought this is normal wear and tear.

In the context of an rear-end collision the affected headlights were replaced by the Nissan Agency in my place of residence here in the U.A.E..

And this is when things got weird...:

- The brand new original spare parts had the same plastic cappings popped out after only 1 month.

- Thus the Nissan agency replaced both of them on warranty

- 5 months later the left headlight was defective again and replaced on warranty as well

- the new headlight then had the plastic thingy popped out again after only ~100 km of driving

- After having informed the agency I went on a 4 week vacation to find out upon arrival that the right headlight now was defective as well :lol:

- Coincidentally I saw a spanish R51 with a different headlight design at that time in Abu Dhabi and thus asked the workshop engineer if this would be worth a try.

See: Image

- They agreed and after another 4 weeks they called me to visit their workshop as the new headlights had been delivered. On that occasion they seriously found out that the electrical connectors weren´t compatible and therefore decided to mount the original ones again :lol:

Shortly afterwards I decided to upgrade to a 2012 LE model and was very happy until - well - yesterday.