New year, new-to-me Pathy

Attack of the unibody snatchers! Styling and handling refined or bland? You decide.

Moderator: volvite

Pathyj1

New year, new-to-me Pathy

Postby Pathyj1 » Fri Dec 31, 2021 11:46 pm

New year, new project. Just picked up a 2001 Pathfinder with 160k miles from my friend.

Plan is to use it as a city/highway daily driver, occasional light off road, maybe 10k miles per year. Hoping it’ll last me another decade or so. Friend tells me it was routinely maintained but it seems like not much work was done beyond oil changes.

I’m a moderately experienced home mechanic, but this is my first Nissan. I’ve been around Toyota’s more. Plan is to baseline all fluids and replace failing parts as I discover them.

I’ve already replaced the oil cooler o-rings that were pretty much sealing nothing. Valve cover gaskets will get replaced.

What other parts should I be looking out for at this age and mileage? I know this is a very generic question but I’m just taking the first step. Thanks all! And happy 2022!!!
Last edited by Pathyj1 on Sun Jan 02, 2022 6:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

palmerwmd
Site Admin

Re: New year, new-to-me Pathy

Postby palmerwmd » Sat Jan 01, 2022 12:32 am

Happy new year!
Glad to have you, we need more R50s 8)

Please show us some pics and tell us whats on the truck? 4x4 or not?
What shape is the interior/exterio in?

Cheers :D

Pathyj1

Postby Pathyj1 » Sun Jan 02, 2022 6:18 pm

palmerwmd wrote:
Sat Jan 01, 2022 12:32 am
SE 3.5L 4x4
Southern California car so very little rust.
Interior is clean for its age.
Fading exterior to be expected.
I believe all stock and no accidents.

Uh… but I can’t seem to figure out how to post pics. I’m trying with my phone and my pics are apparently too large. I see a thread mentioning Photobucket but I assume that’s outdated. Tips?

palmerwmd
Site Admin

Postby palmerwmd » Sun Jan 02, 2022 6:44 pm

Pathyj1 wrote:
Sun Jan 02, 2022 6:18 pm
palmerwmd wrote:
Sat Jan 01, 2022 12:32 am
SE 3.5L 4x4