2008 Pathfinder w/275k miles

Any topics related to 2005-2012 R51

Moderator: volvite

beegeezy

2008 Pathfinder w/275k miles

Postby beegeezy » Thu Apr 28, 2022 10:10 am

Hi everyone,

I'm thinking about purchasing a 2008 Pathfinder S 2WD near me for $2000. It looks fine enough, runs well, and has cold a/c. Some of the negatives are the rear tires are worn, it needs an alignment, struts/shocks are worn out, VDC/Slip light is on, airbag light is flashing, horn non-operational, and a few other minor things. It has been in Texas since new, so rust shouldn't be much of a problem.

I'm a competent diy mechanic, so I can do the work myself. I have priced struts/shocks, tires, and a new (or used) clock spring. Is this a bad idea? Is a 275k mile Pathy not worth fixing at this point, especially if it ends up needing a lot more suspension work? I can find a newer, much lower mile example in my area for $6-10k. Thoughts?

Much appreciated!

TooMuchControl

Re: 2008 Pathfinder w/275k miles

Postby TooMuchControl » Thu Apr 28, 2022 4:40 pm

$$$ add up in a hurry on small things.
Rear tires being worn - seized rear alignment bolts? Maybe not in Texas.

a. I would get a compression check on something with that many miles.
b. the timing chain job - if never done - may cost as much as the truck.

If I had to do it again, I know for a fact that I would invest $3-4k more to get a better condition vehicle.

Depends on what you will use the truck for, I would guess, and that you may be down south, some of the power options that I need, you may not require.

Lots and lots of miles on this one. At least you know it was driven.

beegeezy

Postby beegeezy » Thu Apr 28, 2022 6:25 pm

Yeah, I know it can add up quickly and if the engine or transmission fail, it's a junkyard car.

I only need it a few days a week, maybe 5,000 miles a year. I'd be happy with a couple of years of use out of it. I wish it had better maintenance records too since someone racked up the miles.