How I Added a Reverse Camera to my Factory 7" Screen

Oh yeah, it's the geek bling with flashing lights, just can't get enough.

Moderator: volvite

thePPL

How I Added a Reverse Camera to my Factory 7" Screen

Postby thePPL » Mon May 17, 2010 11:31 pm

First off, I realize that other people have added backup cameras to their factory screens by adding a $250-$300 video converter purchased from various web sites. What I've done is something different (and cheaper). I added the feature without paying a dime - other than the money spent on the actual camera itself. This solution is not going to be for everyone. Some soldering skills and courage are required.

Purpose:
Show reverse camera view on my factory 7" screen on my 2009 Pathfinder. Also allow the option to view the camera while driving forward (just in case I want to double check the hitch connections while pulling my trailer).

My Background and how I figured it out:
I'm a Canadian professional Electrical Engineer doing electronics systems design and programming for about 14 years. I used the wiring diagrams and connector pinouts in the factory service manual to figure out exactly where to make connections to the main AV Control Unit.

Result:

The final product.

The Diagnostics Screen shows the AV Control Unit is fooled into thinking there is an actual Camera module connected.

Here is the camera mounted above the license plate (with custom aluminum mounting bracket).

Disclaimer:
The process involved here is not for everyone. I'm not saying that everyone should attempt this hack, I'm simply pointing out how I did it to the best of my knowledge. I shall not be held responsible if anyone damages their system by attempting what I've done.

Process:
To dismantle the center console, first remove cover around drink holder.

Then remove the gear-shift knob.

Then remove the gear-shift cover.

Then remove these 4 screws to pull out the storage compartment.