U-joints

The Gas and Diesel Engines - VQ40De, VK56DE, YD25DDTi, V9X, Transmission, Transfer Case, Oil, Differentials, Axles, Exhaust...

Moderator: volvite

pathogina

U-joints

Postby pathogina » Fri Oct 22, 2010 12:31 pm

I am a newbie here, very new. I have a 2005 LE 4WD that has a vibration at speeds over 75, worsens when throttle is down vs coasting but does exist while coasting. It is to the point where the rear view mirror shimmies so bad that you can't see out of it. I a leaning towards U-joints as the culprit. I saw that was a common problem, but want details on what t parts to buy. Does anyone have part numbers? Is there a how to guide on this? I searched but came up dry. Also, is there only two - the front and rear? Thanks in advance for any help

GbayPathfinder

Postby GbayPathfinder » Fri Oct 22, 2010 1:42 pm

I am not sure of the part numbers but there are 4 u joints in the pathfinder. One at each end of the front and rear drive shafts. You might also want to have your tires balanced as they can cause the vibration too.

goblue90

Re: U-joints

Postby goblue90 » Fri Oct 22, 2010 2:54 pm

pathogina wrote:I am a newbie here, very new. I have a 2005 LE 4WD that has a vibration at speeds over 75, worsens when throttle is down vs coasting but does exist while coasting. It is to the point where the rear view mirror shimmies so bad that you can't see out of it. I a leaning towards U-joints as the culprit. I saw that was a common problem, but want details on what t parts to buy. Does anyone have part numbers? Is there a how to guide on this? I searched but came up dry. Also, is there only two - the front and rear? Thanks in advance for any help
I just changed out the two u-joints on my front drive shaft. I bought precision greasable u-joints (#280) from rockauto.com for approx. $15 each. I also bought two u-joints for the rear shaft (Precision greasable as well, but number 270). The fronts were pretty easy to change out... I did both in 1.5 hours. Good luck.