TPMS -- Which way to go

Anything relating to Wheels, Tires, and Brake options and upgrades...

Moderator: volvite

allisojh

TPMS -- Which way to go

Postby allisojh » Thu Jan 26, 2012 11:00 am

These little bastards are starting to run out of battery.

1 is bad, 2 are low battery and one is reading fine.

How the F can a 2007 with 57k on it have sensors that the battereis wear out? I would think they would have more than a 5 year lifespan? Federal Law requires them but how about how long they are supposed to last?

They want around 500 to replace them.

I was thinking about using a 3 cent piece of black tape and saying F it.

Honestly I don't need a light, I have been driving for 30 years without sensors and know when to check and fill. Tis so damn annoying to see it blink for a minute then go solid. It doesn't help my OCD either.
Last edited by allisojh on Thu Jan 26, 2012 11:59 am, edited 2 times in total.

deermjd

Postby deermjd » Thu Jan 26, 2012 11:14 am

That's exactly what I would do. Nothing.

smj999smj
Site Admin

Postby smj999smj » Thu Jan 26, 2012 1:38 pm

I just had one go on my 06. They seem to last about 5-7 years. Dorman Products makes them on the aftermarket and work just as good as OEM. If you search around, you can find them for $50 each and I believe they have a lifetime warranty.

NVSteve
Sponsored Member

Postby NVSteve » Thu Jan 26, 2012 3:13 pm

I had one of mine replaced recently at no charge by the dealer, '07 w/53k. The battery on it wasn't bad, but it kept sending out a fault code. I personally hate the things.

Clay350

Postby Clay350 » Fri Jan 27, 2012 7:48 am

On my other cars I use the tire pressure caps. They have a preset rating. If your tires have good pressure you see green when you glance at them. If your tires are low you dont see green. There are no batteries or sensors to fail. Just a easy way to tell if your tires are low. $30 for a set of four

http://www.amazon.com/Quick-Pressure-PS ... B004C4WK44

hfrez