Timing Chain Questions

The Gas and Diesel Engines - VQ40De, VK56DE, YD25DDTi, V9X, Transmission, Transfer Case, Oil, Differentials, Axles, Exhaust...

Moderator: volvite

mrfatboy

Timing Chain Questions

Postby mrfatboy » Sun Apr 07, 2013 1:01 pm

I just took in my 05 Pathfinder to the local dealership to have them replace the catalytic converter that went bad. Thankfully it was covered under warranty. I guess I would have been hit with $2500. I'm at 71k miles.

They also told me that my engine was making a whining noise and said it was the timing chain and guide going bad. They wanted $1600 to fix it as it was not covered under warranty. I declined the repair until I could get more info here.

Doing some reading here at the forums I see it is a coming problem and I have some questions.

- I'm a shade tree mechanic. Can I fix this myself? I have time. Special tools needed?

- The dealership wanted $1600. Is that fair? what should it cost?

- Was this covered under warranty ever? when did my warranty run out to cover this? 50k?

- Should I fix this immediately or is it a big deal? Can it cause bigger damage if it goes unfixed? Personally I don't even hear the whine yet.

- Do you think I get Nissan Assist to help?

Any other advice on the issue?

ShipFixer

Re: Timing Chain Questions

Postby ShipFixer » Sun Apr 07, 2013 3:04 pm

mrfatboy wrote:
- I'm a shade tree mechanic. Can I fix this myself? I have time. Special tools needed?
It would be tough, but at least one person here has done it themselves. Of course they're already a Nissan master technician. So maybe...
- The dealership wanted $1600. Is that fair? what should it cost?
That's the running cost from Nissan dealerships, and what was quoted on my receipt when done under warranty. The lowest I've heard is $800 from a non-Nissan shop here in San Diego for a friend's XTerra.
- Was this covered under warranty ever? when did my warranty run out to cover this? 50k?