09 Pathfinder without rear camera, Nav integration possible?

Oh yeah, it's the geek bling with flashing lights, just can't get enough.

Moderator: volvite

abs168
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 5:03 pm

09 Pathfinder without rear camera, Nav integration possible?

Postby abs168 » Tue Mar 16, 2010 5:16 pm

Just bought a 2009 Pathfinder SE. It has the information display, but does not have the rear camera. Awesome ride, only gripe is that this model didnt have the Nav built in. I REALLY do NOT want to attach my Garmin to the Windshield as it looks stupid having 2 screens, one for the Garmin and the other being the Pathfinder Infomation Display.

Before I get my hands dirty to figure this out - has anyone successfully integrated GPS into the Pathfinder Screen when the OEM camera option is not installed? If so, please share the how to's!

Thanks in advance for your feedback


CRXguy
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 11:16 pm
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada

Postby CRXguy » Tue Mar 16, 2010 6:56 pm

I would like to know as well. Is the screen with Nav/backup camera the same as models w/o Nav/backup? If it is the same, is it as simple as buying the OEM camera and wiring and hook everything in?

thermal_tim
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 7:58 pm
Location: Seabeck, WA

Postby thermal_tim » Tue Mar 16, 2010 8:25 pm

I agree. Same question. I bought an 09 SE and love it, but like others am looking how to get the backup camera and GPS, and also the bluetooth. Anyone know how this can be done?

User avatar
mar1
Sponsored Member
Posts: 1041
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2009 9:08 am
Location: Dubai
Contact:

Postby mar1 » Wed Mar 17, 2010 1:58 am

with the nissan built-in camera, i managed to integrate both DVD and NAV all into the same screen.

this is cause the built-in cam has an extra video input that u can use.


but with no camera whatsoever, i dunno if the screen will accept an additional input.

Brokentoy1
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 2:11 pm
Location: Hutchinson, KS

Postby Brokentoy1 » Wed Mar 17, 2010 1:04 pm

Where is the input located? What type of connection is it?

User avatar
scarelli
Posts: 84
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 8:49 am

Postby scarelli » Wed Mar 17, 2010 2:04 pm

i believe it is behind the AC controls, I was able to get the trim pieces off but I'm still stuck on how to get the shifter of it's rod. If i figure it out I'll post some pics.

I'm actually in the works of building a carputer using my non touch with an old laptop. I just ordered a touch screen overlay for my monitor.

I'll keep everyone updated with how it's going, probably in another tread.

I opted for non nav b/c most factory navs are quite limited an map data can be expensive. I figured i could engineer something way better for a fraction of the cost... so we'll see.. ha

User avatar
mar1
Sponsored Member
Posts: 1041
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2009 9:08 am
Location: Dubai
Contact:

Postby mar1 » Wed Mar 17, 2010 3:10 pm

scarelli wrote:I figured i could engineer something way better for a fraction of the cost... so we'll see.. ha
get a garmin gvn or similar. i added it to the screen. works perfect.
scarelli wrote: how to get the shifter of it's rod.
if its this type,
Image


pull down the chrome piece, and theres a removable metal piece that u pull off, and slide the handle upwards. very easy.


the other type handle, i dont know.

Image

abs168
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 5:03 pm

Postby abs168 » Wed Mar 17, 2010 3:33 pm

What GVN do you have installed? How do you navigate through the GPS options? Does it just use the up/down/left/right/enter/scroll wheel?

abs168
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 5:03 pm

Postby abs168 » Wed Mar 17, 2010 3:45 pm

Just found that it comes with a remote! So, ignore my last post!

User avatar
scarelli
Posts: 84
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 8:49 am

Postby scarelli » Wed Mar 17, 2010 5:52 pm

I have the first one with the rounded top.
I tried pulling the Crome piece at the bottom of the shit knob down but it won't budge, should I be using a flat head screw driver to pry it down? Or do I need to twist it?

Thanks for the help

acomiskey
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 7:33 am

Postby acomiskey » Thu Mar 18, 2010 5:16 am

It doesn't twist. It just pulls down. You could use something plastic to insert in there to get it started, don't scratch it with a screwdriver.

User avatar
scarelli
Posts: 84
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 8:49 am

Postby scarelli » Sun Mar 21, 2010 2:07 pm

got the trim piece off...

now I can't seem to find the RCA jack for the additional input...

Anyone know where it is?

I saw on one thread that you need a TV2NAV box and another one that said that there is a second rca jack that i can just plug directly into???

acomiskey
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 7:33 am

Postby acomiskey » Mon Mar 22, 2010 5:18 am

I've never seen it and don't believe it exists. It is nowhere in the wiring diagrams in the service manual.

User avatar
scarelli
Posts: 84
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 8:49 am

Postby scarelli » Mon Mar 22, 2010 6:56 am

so then i guess i need that TV2NAV thing...

I saw other people on the forum say that there is an RCA jack, I'm curious if the wire is simply an RCA wire but the connectors are just put into the standard multi-wire connectors that Nissan provides...

abs168
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 5:03 pm

Postby abs168 » Mon Mar 22, 2010 10:53 am

I inquired with TVtoNAV, they quoted me $200 for the device to add 2 Video Inputs to the pf display. He said I'd need a FM mod to use audio in conjunction with the video input. Still awaiting a quote for the FM mod.


Return to “NAV/GPS/Audio/Electronics”