Cabin microfilter

**** PLEASE USE SUBTOPICS BELOW FOR NEW TOPICS ****

Moderator: volvite

NoCode
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2010 6:22 am
Location: Virginia

Postby NoCode » Tue Nov 09, 2010 12:15 pm

Service manual shows squeezing in the sides of the glove box to drop it to access the filter. Anyone had any difficulty doing this? It's almost like i squeeze it in as far as possible and its still not far enough. I'm scared I'm going to break something if I push any further. Any thoughts?


User avatar
SilverGhost
Posts: 321
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 6:23 am
Location: Houston, TX

Postby SilverGhost » Tue Nov 09, 2010 12:32 pm

NoCode wrote:Service manual shows squeezing in the sides of the glove box to drop it to access the filter. Anyone had any difficulty doing this? It's almost like i squeeze it in as far as possible and its still not far enough. I'm scared I'm going to break something if I push any further. Any thoughts?
I haven't broken anything yet, doing that. I have found, though, that doing the right side first, then the left, is (I think) a little easier than doing the left first . Or is it the other way around? :roll:

skinny2
Sponsored Member
Posts: 1531
Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2009 10:07 pm
Location: BFE, Ohio

Postby skinny2 » Tue Nov 09, 2010 1:35 pm

Yeah, one side at a time works best. I haven't broken the glove box either...but I did break the clip that holds the filter lid.

User avatar
Kami
Posts: 243
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 8:59 pm
Location: Toroto, ON

Postby Kami » Wed Nov 10, 2010 11:39 pm

Just replaced mine yesterday, took less than 5mins :)

Oh man were the dirty as hell. First time replacement after 45000miles............I know....dont ask why lol

ImageImage

And do the dealers try to rip ur ass off!! they wanted almost 50$ for the filters and i bought a set for 23$ at partsource :D
And not surpisingly the exact same name brand....MicronAir

Well now i can breath clean air ;)

User avatar
Kami
Posts: 243
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 8:59 pm
Location: Toroto, ON

Postby Kami » Wed Nov 10, 2010 11:41 pm

Also please confirm i put them in right.....there are "airflow: arrows on each side of the 2 air filters.

Do the arrows point down? casue thats how i installed them as it was when i pulled the old ones out.

Thanks....


ANSWER: lol just found the answer in the service manual link;
NOTE:
The in-cabin microfilters are marked with air flow arrows. The
end of the microfilter with the arrow should face the rear of the
vehicle. The arrows should point downward.

NoCode
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2010 6:22 am
Location: Virginia

Postby NoCode » Sat Nov 13, 2010 2:45 pm

"And do the dealers try to rip ur ass off!! they wanted almost 50$ for the filters and i bought a set for 23$ at partsource"

$17 for Purolator at Advance + a 20% coupon (online order). Ordered online, pickup in store = $13 total. Replaced mine today.

Npath
Posts: 356
Joined: Wed May 21, 2008 10:20 pm
Location: Vancouver, Canada

Postby Npath » Sun Nov 14, 2010 2:21 am

NoCode wrote:"And do the dealers try to rip ur ass off!! they wanted almost 50$ for the filters and i bought a set for 23$ at partsource"

$17 for Purolator at Advance + a 20% coupon (online order). Ordered online, pickup in store = $13 total. Replaced mine today.
ordered my set on ebay for $11US... delivered to my door.

merrion13
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 5:08 am
Location: Denver

Postby merrion13 » Mon Apr 28, 2014 6:44 am

Has anyone broken that clip that keeps the filter cover in place? I was changing out my filters yesterday, and cracked the tab so now my cover falls off. I know there is also supposed to be a bolt to secure the cover, but there isn't on mine so if anyone knows the size of that please let me know.

skinny2
Sponsored Member
Posts: 1531
Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2009 10:07 pm
Location: BFE, Ohio

Postby skinny2 » Mon Apr 28, 2014 8:12 am

merrion13 wrote:Has anyone broken that clip that keeps the filter cover in place? I was changing out my filters yesterday, and cracked the tab so now my cover falls off. I know there is also supposed to be a bolt to secure the cover, but there isn't on mine so if anyone knows the size of that please let me know.
I believe everyone has broken the clip. Mine did the first time I swapped the filters probably 5 years ago. Duct tape works fine!

User avatar
NVSteve
Sponsored Member
Posts: 1985
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 11:27 am
Location: Salt Lake City

Postby NVSteve » Mon Apr 28, 2014 9:26 am

skinny2 wrote: I believe everyone has broken the clip. Mine did the first time I swapped the filters probably 5 years ago. Duct tape works fine!
Haven't broken mine yet. No idea why as I use quite a bit of force each time I pop it off.

LessThanZero
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2014 8:27 pm
Location: Illinois

Postby LessThanZero » Sat Nov 15, 2014 7:32 pm

NVSteve wrote:
skinny2 wrote: I believe everyone has broken the clip. Mine did the first time I swapped the filters probably 5 years ago. Duct tape works fine!
Haven't broken mine yet. No idea why as I use quite a bit of force each time I pop it off.
Mine came broken, I used a zip tie and just clip it when I change out the filters then zip it closed again. It had a bolt and nut on it, but it was too much a PITA to remove and replace.

User avatar
Zen_master
Posts: 264
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2013 7:42 pm

Postby Zen_master » Fri Mar 31, 2017 5:32 pm

Anyone know OEM part number for the cabin air filter on a 2011 R51 V8?

User avatar
underworld1001
Posts: 313
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2016 9:05 pm
Location: Austin, TX

Postby underworld1001 » Sat Dec 09, 2017 8:22 pm

Following as the others before me, I'll bump this thread from the dead.

Took these pics this past summer, but didn't get around to uploading them until now. Yes, it's a slow Saturday night. For those that are unsure if the cabin air filters have been changed, I would highly recommend doing it. Here is a pic of my old vs new & the cheap-o filters I used. This is from a 2011 V6.

Image
Image


Return to “2005-2012 Pathfinder (R51)”

cron