Radio not holding memory? 2010 LE Bose

Topics related to Lights, Radio, Stereo, Headunits, Alternators...

Moderator: volvite

paradigm
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2018 7:30 am

Radio not holding memory? 2010 LE Bose

Postby paradigm » Wed Feb 21, 2018 7:38 am

My 2010 LE with the bose stereo (no nav), does not hold the radio presets in memory. I am reading this is a common problem, but don't seem to see any real fixes online.

Anyone have the fix for this? I read one method was to remove the fuse in the glove compartment for the radio memory and replace it.


User avatar
palmerwmd
Site Admin
Posts: 1210
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2017 4:45 am
Location: Mid Atlantic

Postby palmerwmd » Wed Feb 21, 2018 3:48 pm

Yes its acommon problem.

My nissan dealer once told me that instead of replacing the entire Bose headunit ( at acost of $2000 just for the part) they could send it out and have it repaired for a fraction.

Never went that route but since its not a rare problem a good starting point might be a large and high end stereo shop.
I am sure they would know a re-builder.. and probably would do a nice and clean uninstall and reinstall..

User avatar
homerino
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun May 05, 2019 1:38 pm

Try reinitializing the head unit

Postby homerino » Thu Nov 28, 2019 3:57 pm

Search elsewhere in this form for “self diagnosticsâ€. It helps initially. But if the head unit is bad the problem will reoccur...I suspect it is a bug that corrupts memory. Erasing it and restoring it helps...then the problem returns.

User avatar
ALO604
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2019 11:38 am

Postby ALO604 » Thu Dec 12, 2019 6:12 pm

I don't what happened here. My radio and clock would not hold memory. I found a missing fuse in the panel by the glove box which was not labeled. I put one in but nothing new happened.
3 days later my clock and radio are holding memory. No clue what the deal is with that but it works. Is it related,,,,beats me.

User avatar
ALO604
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2019 11:38 am

Postby ALO604 » Mon Dec 23, 2019 12:45 am

So I noticed now my radio will not accept any presets. Also trip computer always defaults to what was on it after key cycling. Also can't set any maintenance intervals. WTF

User avatar
palmerwmd
Site Admin
Posts: 1210
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2017 4:45 am
Location: Mid Atlantic

Postby palmerwmd » Mon Dec 23, 2019 1:40 pm

ALO604 wrote:So I noticed now my radio will not accept any presets. Also trip computer always defaults to what was on it after key cycling. Also can't set any maintenance intervals. WTF
This happened to me as well. <dealer said onlz fix was to rpleace with OEMN Bose for 2200 plus :x

User avatar
ALO604
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2019 11:38 am

Postby ALO604 » Mon Dec 23, 2019 5:53 pm

palmerwmd wrote:
ALO604 wrote:So I noticed now my radio will not accept any presets. Also trip computer always defaults to what was on it after key cycling. Also can't set any maintenance intervals. WTF
This happened to me as well. <dealer said onlz fix was to rpleace with OEMN Bose for 2200 plus :x
Well then I guess that's it then. I'm thinking I paid too much for this thing now that all these issues it has. The guy who sold it to me didn't disclose anything and said all works fine. I'm sure he knew what was up as he owned it for years.

User avatar
disallow
Site Admin
Posts: 2807
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 9:02 am
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

Postby disallow » Tue Dec 24, 2019 12:34 am

I know smj has posted info on where to send the Bose units for repair.

User avatar
smj999smj
Site Admin
Posts: 5759
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 11:13 pm
Location: Prospect, VA

Postby smj999smj » Tue Dec 24, 2019 4:53 am

Bose Corp. has service options. Here's a link to their contact page:

https://www.bose.com/en_us/contact_us.html

There are also a number of places that repair Nissan Bose units which you can locate doing a simple web search for "Nissan Bose radio repair."


Return to “R51 Electrical”