no heat, only when driving. what gives?

**** PLEASE USE SUBTOPICS BELOW FOR NEW TOPICS ****

Moderator: volvite

hkmaster

Postby hkmaster » Thu Nov 19, 2009 9:15 am

hey everyone, i'm new to the path. well here goes, i have an 05 pathfinder that only gives out heat when i'm driving. On idle no heat just cold air plus when i do get heat i can't regulate it just very hot that's it. Also no heat in the rear. I did some research and came up with nothing. Any help would be greatly appreciated, before i take it to the stealership. thanks

NVRDONE

Postby NVRDONE » Thu Nov 19, 2009 9:33 am

Have you checked the coolant level in the system ? No coolant = no heat.
If there is no coolant, where did it go.
Also check the thermostat. If it's stuck open, the engine does not come up to operating temp & you get no heat.

myriad46

Postby myriad46 » Thu Nov 19, 2009 12:02 pm

There can be a couple of reasons for this. First, is the temp gauge in the dash coming up, or not? If it's not coming up, than there could be a problem with the thermostat as NVRDONE suggests.

If the gauge climbs as normal, but there is still cold air coming from the vents, until you get driving down the road, then HOT air comes out... You could have air bubbles in your radiator.

The quick procedure is this... (summarized from offical nissan procedure, search for that if you are uncertain about doing this).

- Wait till the engine is cold.
- Raise the front end of the truck with a jack or on ramps.
- Take the pressure cap off the radiator itself.
- You'll want a good wad of rags around the cap, and maybe some on the ground, because it's going to burble out some coolant.
- Let the truck come up to temperature a little.
- You may see some air bubbles come out and the level go down. That's good.
- Once up to temperature, or after a couple minutes, gently rev the engine a little. Nothing crazy; maybe 2000 rpm, a couple times, slowly. Too fast and your engine compartment's gonna get a bath.