Window Master Switch Removal & Repair

Topics related to Lights, Radio, Stereo, Headunits, Alternators...

Moderator: volvite

User avatar
eieio
Sponsored Member
Posts: 1830
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2009 6:42 am
Location: Prescott, Az.

Window Master Switch Removal & Repair

Postby eieio » Sat Mar 27, 2010 3:05 pm

The left side rear door window can no longer be closed using the master switch on the drivers' door. It works fine using the switch on its' own door.
I suspect a dirty or corroded switch contact, especially since the problem began as intermittent and gradually became worse.

I'd like to know:
1) proper switch removal procedure (svc manual just says remove it!)
..... i've tried to lift & pry, no success, don't want to damage anything!
2) has anyone had this issue & successfully repaired the switch?

Thanks! :)


User avatar
mar1
Sponsored Member
Posts: 1041
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2009 9:08 am
Location: Dubai
Contact:

Postby mar1 » Sun Mar 28, 2010 6:42 am

weird.

ive had that same switch replaced twice under warranty.

hamncheese
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2011 9:30 pm

Postby hamncheese » Thu Feb 17, 2011 5:27 am

I'm having the same exact issue with the rear window. Did you ever get to remove the main power window switch? Would be helpful before I go and brake something.

Thanks

User avatar
JAHBLESSINGS
Sponsored Member
Posts: 1400
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 1:36 pm
Location: 90 DEGREES FLORIDA

Postby JAHBLESSINGS » Thu Feb 17, 2011 5:39 am

i pried mine from the sides and eventually worked it out. the main prying is from the back of the switch.
Last edited by JAHBLESSINGS on Mon Feb 21, 2011 5:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Somber Goat
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2009 5:51 am
Location: Nashville, TN

Postby Somber Goat » Thu Feb 17, 2011 8:42 am

Just posted this response in another thread concerning the same issue.

Butter knife along bottom edge, gently pry along there and move it around the edge slowly and the whole unit will come up, (screwdriver will mark up the edge) couple screws to get the panel off the switches and then just unplug the wiring harness for the windows, window lock & door lock.

Replace and reverse to install.

Replaced mine last year.

User avatar
eieio
Sponsored Member
Posts: 1830
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2009 6:42 am
Location: Prescott, Az.

Postby eieio » Thu Feb 17, 2011 8:48 am

an old credit card or thin plastic spatula will work also, without damaging anything
there are actually special tools available, made of plastic or nylon, to do these types of prying jobs

hamncheese
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2011 9:30 pm

Postby hamncheese » Thu Feb 17, 2011 9:21 am

So the whole door panel doesn't need to be removed? Sounds like just the trim around the switches needs to be removed, right?

Thanks for all the quick responses

User avatar
eieio
Sponsored Member
Posts: 1830
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2009 6:42 am
Location: Prescott, Az.

Postby eieio » Thu Feb 17, 2011 9:27 am

yes, the trim & switches come out as an assembly
you have to pull & pry quite hard :shock:

hamncheese
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2011 9:30 pm

Postby hamncheese » Thu Feb 17, 2011 9:50 am

Thanks buddy

hamncheese
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2011 9:30 pm

Postby hamncheese » Fri Feb 18, 2011 4:22 pm

Since I didn't see any pics on how it would look like with the main power window switch removed, thought I'd share these pics I took when I removed mine...today. I cleaned it out and the switch works for now, only time will tell. My first time posting pics, hope they are not too big. My apologies if I posted incorrectly. Only trying to help future owners with similar problems.

Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image

User avatar
eieio
Sponsored Member
Posts: 1830
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2009 6:42 am
Location: Prescott, Az.

Postby eieio » Fri Feb 18, 2011 4:26 pm

what did you use to clean it out?

hamncheese
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2011 9:30 pm

Postby hamncheese » Fri Feb 18, 2011 5:06 pm

electronic cleaner by CRC basically an aerosol spray

alloutz79
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 7:44 pm
Location: philly area

Postby alloutz79 » Thu Apr 26, 2012 8:01 pm

do you think an 07+ switch (with both front windows on auto) will work fine on an 06????

hamncheese
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2011 9:30 pm

Postby hamncheese » Sun May 06, 2012 12:54 pm

alloutz79 wrote:do you think an 07+ switch (with both front windows on auto) will work fine on an 06????
Couldn't say, guess you'll have to compare the switches

User avatar
V8Pathy
Posts: 192
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 9:20 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Postby V8Pathy » Mon Apr 04, 2016 3:11 pm

tagging this one :D


Return to “R51 Electrical”